I, Racist

The NAACP harbors racists.  So does the Tea Party, or so I’m told.

The Democratic Party has always offered a home to racists, from Andrew Jackson to Robert Byrd.  Indeed, earlier this month the remains of the former Exalted Cyclops of the Ku Klux Klan and filibusterer against the landmark 1964 Civil Rights Act lay in repose upon the Lincoln catafalque in the chamber of the U.S. Senate, prior to the funeral at which he was eulogized by a long list of Party eminences, including the current and one former U.S. president.

Republicans, of course, are obvious racists. Just ask Spencer Ackerman.

Al Qaeda is racist, which may justify upgrading our “overseas contingency operations” to a global war on racism.

Ann Althouse suggests that we all own up to being racists. Allow me to do just that.

I once voted for a political candidate on the grounds that (1) I agreed with him on many issues and (2) he was African-American. That candidate was not Barack Obama, whose policies I largely oppose. I am clearly a racist, because I prefer that candidates of color share my political views as a condition of voting for them. I also favor limited government, which means fewer SEIU jobs to be apportioned to Democrats, who are disproportionately non-white. Clearly, I am a racist. I believe that one of the proper functions of government is to provide for the national defense, which makes me a supporter of a military in which the proportion of African-Americans is dwindling. Inarguably, I am a racist. I would prefer to scale back the welfare state, which means I am a racist. Of course, if I thought that non-whites would be disproportionately affected by a scaling back of the welfare state, then that would be further proof of my racism.

I confess. I am a racist.

Your turn, Mr. Holder.

This entry was posted in announcements of unlikely import. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

